Lettre Ulysses Award for the art of reportage

Yang Xiaobin, China

Poet, writer, and literary critic. Yang Xiaobin was born in 1963 in Shanghai. He studied Chinese language and literature at Fudan University in Shanghai. Since 1996, he has taught Chinese literature at various American and Chinese universities. He is particularly interested in contemporary Chinese literature, film, cultural theory, and comparative cultural studies. Yang Xioabin writes in both Chinese and English.

His most important publications include Fouding de meixue: Falankefu xuepai de wenxue lilun yu wenhua piping [Negative Aesthetics: Literary Theory and Cultural Criticism of the Frankfurt School], (Shanghai: Sanlian shudian, 1995 and 1999), Lishi yu xiuci: Dangdai Zhongguo wenxue lun [History and Rhetoric: On Contemporary Chinese Literature], (Lanzhou: Dunhuang wenyi chubanshe, 1999), and The Chinese Postmodern: Trauma and Irony in Chinese Avant-Garde Fiction (University of Michigan Press, 2002).

His essays and lectures have been published in numerous international newspapers in the United States, China, Taiwan, Japan, and Europe, including American Imago, Asian Culture Quarterly, Tamkang Review, Dushu, Jintian (Today).

Yang Xiaobin has received numerous prizes, honors, and grants, including in 1988 the Special Achievement Award of the Shanghai Academy of Social Sciences, in 1994-95 the Research Grant of the Pacific Cultural Foundation, and in 2001 the Fulbright-Hays Faculty Research Abroad Grant of the U.S. Department of Education. He has participated in numerous events on the Chinese postmodern, the relationship between aesthetics and politics, and on contemporary Chinese literature.

He is presently teaching in Peking as a visiting professor at Beijing Normal University. Yang Xiaobin is a frequent traveller between the two sides of the Pacific Ocean.

go to top of the page

"If you want to report on an issue that is so deep, the only honest way to report it is to have a commitment in time."Pedro Rosa Mendes (jury member 2003, 2004, 2005 & 2006)